29 Sep 2019

Pursuant to APPEA’s Constitution, Directors are required to retire every two years on a rotational basis and may stand for re-election at that time. In addition, Directors must also retire and may stand for re-election if they were appointed to fill a casual vacancy during the year.

This year, nine (9) vacancies have arisen from the 16 member board. These vacancies will be filled by nomination and by election if required, with the results to be announced at the APPEA Annual General Meeting on 13 November 2019 in Perth.

Retiring Directors are:

1. Eric Streitberg, Buru Energy
2. Frank Calabria, Origin Energy Limited
3. Graham Salmond, BHP Petroleum
4. Hitoshi Okawa, INPEX
5. Ian Davies, Senex Energy Limited
6. Meg O’Neill, Woodside Energy Ltd
7. Nathan Fay, ExxonMobil Australia Pty Ltd
8. Nicholas McKenna, ConocoPhillips Australia
9. Zoe Yujnovich, Shell Australia

Nominations are therefore called to fill the nine (9) vacancies on the APPEA Board. If the number of nominations is more than the number of vacancies to be filled, an election by ballot of all Full Members must take place. Voting closes at 12 midday AEDT on 11 November 2019.

Any Full Member company may nominate a candidate for election. Please contact Cath Sutton for a nomination form. The nomination of any person for election to the Board must be in writing and signed by a Full Member and the candidate. Nominations must be received by the Company Secretary by 12 midday AEDT on 30 October 2019, either by email to [email protected], or by mail.

The role of the APPEA Board is to operate at the highest level of policy and to set and steer the overall strategic direction of the Association. Nominees are therefore expected to hold the most senior position within the nominating company and at least be the equivalent of the CEO of the oil and gas exploration and production business in cases where the company concerned has multiple businesses.

Your attention is drawn to Article 6.8(b) of the Constitution that states that “a Full Member is entitled to exercise a right to vote at a general meeting only if all monies payable by the Full Member to the Company have been paid”.

For further information on what is involved in being a Director, please contact Andrew McConville on mobile 0457 363 936 or Cath Sutton, Company Secretary direct on (02) 6267 0909, by mail GPO Box 2201 Canberra ACT 2601, or by email to [email protected].

30 September 2019

Read PDF – 2019 Call for Nominations for Positions on APPEA Board