18 Nov 2021

Media release: APPEA announces new Board Directors


The Board of the Australian Petroleum Production & Exploration Association (APPEA) is pleased to announce the election of Ian Davies as Chair and Meg O’Neill as Vice Chair following APPEA’s Annual General Meeting (AGM) in Perth today.

Mr Davies, Managing Director and Chief Executive Officer of Senex Energy, was first elected to the APPEA Board in 2017 and has held the position of Vice Chair since 2019.

Ms O’Neill, Chief Executive Officer and Managing Director of Woodside Energy, was first elected to the Board in 2019.

APPEA welcomes three new Directors: Morné Engelbrecht, Acting Chief Executive Officer of Beach Energy; Noel Newell, Executive Chairman of 3D Oil Ltd.; and Ken Yamamura, Managing Director and Chief Executive Officer at Mitsui E&P Australia.

Former APPEA Chairman Eric Streitberg, Executive Chairman at Buru Energy, retired as an APPEA Director at the AGM. Mr Streitberg served on the APPEA Board across two different stints for almost three decades including as Chairman from 2009 to 2011. His long-term leadership and vision have left an enduring legacy.

Following the Annual General Meeting election, the Association’s Directors are as follows:

  • Ian Davies, Senex Energy Limited
  • Meg O’Neill, Woodside Energy Ltd
  • Frank Calabria, Origin Energy Limited
  • Kate Callaghan, Chevron Australia Pty Ltd
  • Khoa Dao, ConocoPhillips Australia
  • Morné Engelbrecht, Beach Energy
  • Kevin Gallagher, Santos Ltd
  • David Maxwell, Cooper Energy
  • Tor McCaul, Comet Ridge Limited
  • Shiva McMahon, BHP Petroleum
  • Noel Newell, 3D Oil Ltd
  • Tony Nunan, Shell Australia
  • Hitoshi Okawa, INPEX
  • Dylan Pugh, ExxonMobil Australia Pty Ltd
  • Kathy Wu, BP Developments Australia
  • Ken Yamamura, Mitsui E&P Australia

Read the media release as a PDF